IRPCS and why you have to get out the way

DAKA

Visit site
john morris asked me to explain this here after we touched on the subject in the lounge.

This explanation is what Tim Bartlet, PaulGooch,Haydn and myself were discussing and for a change agreeing when the lumberjack thread got pulled.

I hope you can read it with an open mind, I'm not very good at putting my thoughts across so its up to you to interpret it into your situation.

In my opinion it fully explains why in the past Tim has frequently been unable to win his point of view across to experienced channel crossers.

It all about perception of distance and realistic horizons.

A ships captain is looking from the top of his tower.

A sailing boat skipper is looking from the bottom of his sail.

The ships captain sees the sail long before the sailing boat skipper sees the tanker.

Add to this the stable platform the ships captain has along with exceptional radar compared with the sailing boat skipper and you should begin to realize that all the forum members who say most ships alter for them could well be right but as the alteration happened before the ship came into view of the sailing boat the other half of the forum members believe that ships dont alter at all .

The ship can only realistically alter a few degrees so the alteration will be small and a long way off.

As you cant see the ship you may well unwittingly tack into the path of the ship and you cant expect the ship to keep altering for you as other event preclude this. There could well be other obstacles that you cant see to prevent him .

Seeing as by the time you see the ship he will have already taken the action he feels is appropriate then you have to decide if his action is adequate , monitor for a short duration and if you feel he is too close then it is time for you to take action to comply with your equal duty to avoid a collision and get out the way.