Yacht electrical system design

Carbalu

Visit site
Hi all, new to this forum but looking forward to everyone’s wisdom. I’m looking at a complete overhaul and redesign of the electrical system I’m planning on putting into my 30ft sailing yacht. This is my initial design and please bear in mind I haven’t finished yet with wire sizes, fuses etc it more getting peoples opinion on the system layout that I would appreciate. Many thanks and look forward to it.

Attachments

• IMG_8614.jpeg
    IMG_8614.jpeg
    224.3 KB · Views: 111

wingcommander

Visit site
Personally I wouldn't bother with a solar panel on the starter battery, is normally back to fully charged within minutes. If you already have it and the mppt use it on the house bank. The rest ime still trying to get my head around. ( Not a sparky by trade)

Carbalu

Visit site
Personally I wouldn't bother with a solar panel on the starter battery, is normally back to fully charged within minutes. If you already have it and the mppt use it on the house bank. The rest ime still trying to get my head around. ( Not a sparky by trade)
My thoughts with that were that being a vital bit of equipment I wanted the assurance that the starter battery effectively had that redundancy of its own source to charge, but can see your point of view thank you

dunedin

Visit site
I would agree with that, we don’t have the solar connected to engine start battery. Never had an issue but invested in high amp long jump leads to power from domestic bank in emergency at about £40.

IanCC

Visit site