Why are Ketch/Yawls more numerous than Schooners ?

Mik_Mohr

Visit site
Hi all,

I am a newbie to all this, but I have always loved being afloat. My recent post martial freedom has allowed me to explore this further. I am keen that as soon as I have finished providing for my children, I can cast off and see the world again. Being a methodical fellow as most aircrew are (non methodical ones do not tend to last long!), I have been reading up on the subject. I understand that Ketch/Yawl type rigs are favoured for short handed cruising because the sail area is effectively divided into 3-4 sails rather than 2 larger sails on a sloop. This makes them easier to handle.

My question is why do I seem to see many more Ketch rigged boats than Schooner rigs, even though they would appear to achieve the same effect? I am aware that on a broad reach or run the rearward sail tends to blank the forward one from the wind, is this the reason?

Thanks in advance for any replies

<hr width=100% size=1>You can lead a student to knowledge, but you cannot make them think.

snowleopard

Visit site
the problem is more the other way round, when going to windward the forward sail backwinds the after one. most ketches just drop the mizzen when going to windward but on a schooner the fore backwinds the main and if you drop the main you've very little left, if you drop the fore you lose the slot. if you keep all sail set you have to sail very free and ease the foresail so of course you don't point too well. a schooner can be goosewinged on a run but it's nerve-racking as one sail is always running by the lee.

<hr width=100% size=1>

davidbains

Visit site
Re: Why are Ketch/Yawls more numerous than Schoone