Visiting the bridge

janeK

Visit site
I am a raggie YM student and due to the many discussions of Colregs on the YM 'Scuttlebutt' I am wondering if I requested to the Captain of the P&O mini cruise to Bilbao that I will be travelling on in September, would I be allowed to visit the bridge? The reason being I am interested in seeing exactly how much you can actually see from a bridge of a large vessel with the naked eye with regard to yachts in comparison to radar when crossing a TSS for example?
I would ideally request 2 visits 1) During the day 2) Nighttime for obvious reasons
1) Would this be allowed - if so, would you advise that I write a letter to the Captain and leave it with the Customer service desk on embarcation?

If anyone could give me any pointers in the right direction I would appreciate it

Thanks

Jane

<hr width=100% size=1>Why does a slight tax increase cost you £200 and a substantial tax cut saves you £0.30?
JaneK

cjc

Visit site
Hi, Iam a deck officer with the cruise side of P&O and although its not an everyday thing, we often have visitors (passengers) to the bridge, the one thing that I would say is that at times of high traffic density or TSS's etc it is rare that the captain allows them up. Although I never object especially being a "raggie" myself as many have no idea of how highly trained and prof. we really are.
The best way to request would be to send a letter in advance to the operations side, and if that fails just try again when you get on board by sending a letter to the captain via the pursers desk. (sorry I cant be any more specific as Im not on the ferry side of things)
Best of luck, and if you get up there you may be able to pass the word around.

By the way I often pick off yachts by radar at around 9 miles and visual by around 4 (depending on many factors)

<hr width=100% size=1>

Swampyhotdog

Visit site
Hi There,