VAT on return to UK?

davec

Visit site
There's a rumour going round the Caribbean that on returning to the UK in one's yacht after more than 3 years away, VAT is payable. Even on a VAT-paid, UK registered boat!
Is there any truth in the rumour?

LadyJessie

Visit site
Absolutely not. This is a rumour that has gone around some time but it is without any base. I am an accountant and have worked many years on European VAT issues and I was very surprised when I first heard this rumour. There is nothing in European (or UK) VAT legislation to support this. To be sure (I have been retired some years now) that nothing has changed from my time, I did check this with HMC&E last year and they confirmed that if you can document that your yacht has had VAT paid somewhere in the EU you will have no problems. VAT can never be paid twice (unless you lose your documentation, but that is another story...)

Talbot

Visit site
[ QUOTE ]
if you can document that your yacht has had VAT paid somewhere in the EU you will have no problems. VAT can never be paid twice

[/ QUOTE ]

That is only true if you were the owner when the boat had vat paid status in the EU. If you purchase outside of the EU you will still be liable for VAT (robbin barstewards)

of course even in the west indies, provided you do the handover at one of the French Islands that are considered to be part of the EU, then you are covered.

LadyJessie

Visit site
Agree, but that is a different scenario than the one in the original question. Let me try to be more precise: VAT can never be paid twice on one purchase, i.e. you will never pay twice on your own boat. However, anything you buy outside of the EU and import into the EU is liable to VAT on that purchase transaction, regardless of the original VAT status.