Suzuki DF2.5 Float Full of a Liquid

DOILY

Visit site
My carburettor is constantly flooding as if the float operated needle valve is not closing. On dismantling I see that the plastic float is almost full of a clear liquid (petrol?). But I can't find any leaks.
Is it normal for the float to have liquid inside?
TIA

DOILY

Visit site
Thank you Poecheng. All Agents are telling me there is nil stock in UK for a float. 4 to 6 weeks delivery from Japan. Crazy.

Can anyone recommend any repair techniques please?

TIA again.

thinwater

sail-delmarva.blogspot.com
My carburettor is constantly flooding as if the float operated needle valve is not closing. On dismantling I see that the plastic float is almost full of a clear liquid (petrol?). But I can't find any leaks.
Is it normal for the float to have liquid inside?
TIA
Obviously it should be MT. Probably the correct troubleshoot. But this is not unheard; a car of mine did that in the 70s, when I was a teenage shade tree mechanic.

Poecheng

Visit site
Thank you Poecheng. All Agents are telling me there is nil stock in UK for a float. 4 to 6 weeks delivery from Japan. Crazy.

Can anyone recommend any repair techniques please?

TIA again.
I am going to make this up now but......
If you put it in hot water, will the expanded air in the float not have to escape through the leak allowing you to identify where it is.
Then get rid of the petrol within and a hot knife or similar to seal the leak ?

DOILY

Visit site
Thank you for your helpful ideas.

Update : Using a variation on the NDT dye penetrant technique (wife's talc) I've found a tiny hairline "crack", about 4mm long causing the leak.

My plan now is to drill 2 small holes, drain the fuel and then seal the holes and the crack with Araldite to get me to my mooring and back; and also order a new float as a permanent fix.

Just another question : Has this been caused by the nasties in E10??

Snowgoose-1

Visit site