stern gland

G

I'm new to traditional stern gland. I've repacked and refitted it, and generally seems ok. However, it was getting warm, so I gave a couple of turns on the remote greaser( thinking hot = lack of lubrication), but I think it then became hotter still. I know its meant to be leaking something like 4 drops a minute, but not always easy to tell if this is actually happening. How tight shold the packing nut be? Just hand tight? Would too much grease create friction? Could anything else be happening?

G

When you put the packing in you should not overpack the gland. I think there was an article recently (last 2 years) in either pbo or sailing today on this subject. Tighten the gland slightly more than hand tight and pump the grease (WATERPROOF I use the Duckhams Keenol? ) until there is slight resistance. If it is running hot it is probably too tight and that is a major problem as the shaft will get very hot and the shaft will wear rapidly.If you want me to look up the article Email me back so I know you are really interested and I will look for it.

G

Welcome to the black art of stern glands! I agree it is easy to over pack thinking that the more you can stuff in the better. In fact you would be suprised at how lightly it can be packed and still not leak. Mine ran quite warm until the grease worked its way around and now with the nuts finger tight, it runs luke warm with a couple of drops at most per minute. Dick James

G

Thanks for responses. There was a good guide in PBO a couple of years ago which I have a copy of, but still didn't quite answer my query. I don't think I have overpacked with stuffing, but probably overdone the grease and the tightening nut, so will try loosening the latter, lay off the former and see what happens.

G