Some questions

Dinghy_Sailor

Visit site
Hello. This is my first post, and I would be grateful for the answers to a couple of questions (sorry if they sound a bit basic, but I am not too experienced with this sailing lark).

I am thinking of buying a Merlin Rocket dinghy to pot about with over the summer with my two girls (aged 3) - not racing! Although I've done a bit of dinghy sailing a couple of years ago, I don't think I'd feel too confident taking my girls out straight away, but was thinking if I could fit an outboard motor things would be easier (and less traumatic for them - I don't want to put them off sailing for life!). Can I fit an outboard easily to a Merlin, and would it go OK? Also can I fit some oars to it?

Also, can I just turn up and start sailing in any river, canal, reservoir or are there restrictions? Do I need to pay anyone or get any kind of licence?

I really just want to be able to go out for the day maybe up and down a canal or river for a mile or so - nothing too adventurous. The reason I was thinking of the Merlin is that I've seen one for sale with trailer for about 500 pounds and this is about my limit cashwise.

Any advice would be welcome! Thanks

sarabande

Visit site
Hi D_S and welcome to the Forum.

The Rocket is not a good idea for a family, not enough room for the children to sit down with an icecream and a teddy bear. And it's a very unforgiving boat to use an outboard - if indeed you could fit one.

A good starter boat is an Enterprise. A lot of room, easy to sail, lots of storage, and will defintiely take an small o/b. If you PM me , I know of a really beautiful example for sale for just a bit more than you have in mind. It will serve you well until the children are more ambitious and refuse to sail with parents !

byron

RIP
Visit site