small LPG outboards

G

Is anyone aware of any such a thing? Wouldnt it be great, just screw on any size calor gas canister and off you go.Afterwards unscrew the canister, open a valve to release any gas in the system and sling it in the lazarat with no risk of explosive fumes etc! I suppose it would have to be 4 stroke.Solves the problem of finding a marina that sells petrol.

G

You are right it would have to 4 stroke. There is a lot of development work going on with 4 stroke outboards at the moment by Marine Gas Services. See March issue of MBM.

G

You are right it would have to be 4 stroke. There is a lot of development work going on with 4 stroke outboards at the moment by Marine Gas Services. See March issue of MBM.

G

would an out board built to run only on LPG cost more than the petrol equivalent?- probably yes at first to cover development costs, eventually probably not?

G

Im not an expert in LPG but when considering it for my boat the greatest part of the expense was for the tanks (usually custom fit) and the time taken for fitting these tanks. By using ready made LPG bottles i would think the cost of conversion would be quite low.

G

You certainly are not an expert! A single engine conversion will take about 3 days. Regulations do not allow for the conventional cylinder to be carried. The system must be self venting in the case of fire, this would not be possible if you were carrying a "few cylinders". I had my boat converted in December and had two tanks installed (one either side in the engine bay) which gives me a total of 38 gallons of LPG. My costs have dropped from about £1.80 a nm to about £0.75p. Conversions for outboards are on their way and they will be dual fuel as per inboards - but 4 stroke only.

G