Problems in Akheron River, Greece.

Visit site
My wife and I have been cruising the Ionian for nearly four years now but, this year we decided to visit places we have missed in the past.
One place was the Akheron River, South of Parga.
We know friends who have visited in the past and said it was worth the trip.
In the Heikell book, under Ormos Fanari, it says, it is possible to navigate up river and go side too on a wooden catwalk on the port side.
We navigated Seadeuced up river, after seeing two German flagged boats leaving the river mouth. We thought that there was definitely going to be a space for us.
When we arrived, there was a very large space between a German boat, and two further German boats which, were rafted.
The spot was perfect and after a beer we went up river in the Dinghy to explore.
When we arrived back there was a further German boat, this time a large motor cruiser.
The owner of the boat came up to us and told us the catwalk was private and that we could not stay the night and that we should leave.
I pointed out the fact that the book made reference to the catwalk and that it was free for anyone to use.
He then made a call and another German arrived telling us he was a hotel owner and lived in the village, and that he had paid for the pontoon and it was now private.
After some discussions of the legality of his claim he became more aggressive and at one point threatened to cut our lines. He said he needed the space for his friends who were coming back in the afternoon.
More arguments followed, but the end result was that we decided to leave as it was apparent from his reference to the mayor, that we were going to get no backing from the authorities should things turn nasty.
Has anyone had any similar experiences here or does anyone have any idea who to speak to regarding the legality of his claim.