OOD duty - no fun!

Gin

Visit site
I am new to racing one and a bit seasons done, maybe 20 races total.

Club is great and has active racing etc.

However last week I went down only to find that we couldn't race and was collared to help the OOD on race duty. Third time this year, one practice, one where our boat was the ood and this. I have only raced about 6 times this year.

Anyway I get down tonight to be approached by 3 separate people to tell me there is a big upset as it appears that some of the results were wrong last week.

So I get hauled in after the race this evening for a formal enquiry in to what went wrong. Transpires that probably my dodgy handwriting and a mistaken time caused a problem so it has been amended.

Seems to me that I will never volunteer to help OOD again as getting lynched for making a mistake is not part of why I go sailing. Fine to adjust, but the tone of the enquiry should be along cheerful lines and not so formal.

People seem to complain about the race officers all the time. I would never complain as it is people doing it once a year and it is hardly the olympics!?!

Maybe I have got the wrong end of the stick but this sort of thing is incredibly off putting for me as a semi outsider. I half think I cant be bothered. Having said that most people in the club are extremely nice and aren't that precious.

What do you think - thin skin? Right? Its serious? Its not serious?

Cheers

Rob

Been there and done it too- a simply awful experience that one hopes never to have to endure again, so like you I avoided it whenever I could. There will always be the moaners, rightly or wrongly, so unless you have a thick enough skin don't risk spoiling what you do for pleasure and relaxation.