Liveaboard marinas?

Spock1701

Visit site
Hi I am looking for a marina that accepts Liveaboards. I heard there a few in Brighton, Eastbourne and Newhaven? Can anyone confirm this or suggest a marina in the vicinity that accepts liveaboards.

saxonpirate

Visit site
None accept liveabords. Some turn a blind eye so long as you keep your head down. Long thread here previously, use google site=ybw.

I'm afraid I've got to reiterate what Lucy52 says above, liveaboards are not encouraged. Especially if the marina is popular and full.

The thinking is.. why take on the hassle of permanent boat people when its far easier and less hassle to cater for the (generally richer) visitors, who arrive, spend money, and depart..

Many years back I was a resident for quite some time on my boat in a SW marina. There were many liveaboards then, and a very congenial atmosphere. Not so today. It has become yet another boat park, and big money is very much in evidence by way of the huge motor vessels there. At £5,500 a year + electricity for a 33' sailing boat, it ain't cheap either.. I certainly have no desire to be there again..

To return to the original question of liveaboard marina's.. turn up for a winter berth, keep your head down and live aboard. See how things unfold once you've got the lay of the land as it were.. Good luck.. :encouragement:

maby

Visit site
My experience is that vanishingly few marinas officially accept liveaboards, but most tolerate them. I think it is mostly a question of legality and planning permission - marinas fall under the control of local government and if they officially accept liveaboards, they effectively put themselves into the same category as trailer parks - they would need formal planning permission in much the same way as any new housing development.