Lifting loads

Tottington Hall, near Bury, in the Duchy of Lancas
Visit site
Further to my last....

I'm trying to estimate the lateral compression loads for a sling-lift early next week.

Lifting_loads.jpg

The boat's mass is 3 tonnes. The 8m./16.6' slings are well up to the job. The upper triangle in the illustration is equilateral.

Would someone with trig rather less rusty than mine kindly help me gain a 'first order approximation' of the likely compression load?

:cool:

Slings 8m. / 26'6" new and certificated. ( flinger trubl! )

Last edited:

boomerangben

Visit site
Total compression will be approximately 3te x tan 30 deg = 1.73te

Hence the need for long slings or a spreader beam, or indeed a boat lift. I have little experience of lifting boats but used to do a lot of rigging design in a previous career. I would say that you want longer slings or some means of preventing that load being imparted onto the boat. Moreover, you have only show a 2 dimensional problem (or have I missed something). I presume you are going to be using two slings, one fore, one aft, so that load will be spread between two parts of the deck, although the total load would be the same. If you are using a single crane hook, those loads might be a little bigger. Then you want to add some form of safety factor.

I don't know how confident you are with the boat's displacement. We got a bit of a shock lifting what we thought was a 5 te boat. Turned out to be over 6.

VicS

Visit site
Yes if the angle between the slings is 60° the total compression is 3 x tan30 divided between the fore and aft slings

The pic below shows how to do it with four brothers and long slings.
With long keelers its often a good idea to put lashings between the fore and aft slings each side.

Your crane operator will know how to do the job. Trust him, don't try to tell him his job!

DSCF0314.jpg

Last edited:

William_H

Visit site
Sling lift