Is this the Carburettor?

Adetheheat

Visit site
Stupid question but I'm just learning - is the part of the engine highlighted in red the carburettor - it seems to have fuel and air going into it so by deduction hopefully I'm right.

Attachments

• 20240514_182501.jpg
    20240514_182501.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 113

Adetheheat

Visit site
Thanks.
I need to ask another question. How do the pros actually get these things out to service them? The screws are in impossible to reach places - I managed to undo about 3 but the rest are impossible with a screwdriver

Bouba

Visit site
Thanks.
I need to ask another question. How do the pros actually get these things out to service them? The screws are in impossible to reach places - I managed to undo about 3 but the rest are impossible with a screwdriver
If it’s difficult try a spray can of carb cleaner as your first line of defense

Alicatt

Visit site
Thanks.
For awkward small spaces I have a "Z" shaped double ended screwdriver, both plain and cross point, a pain to use but works in smaller spaces than you can get a small ratchet in to, also have a couple of different flexible drives from Teng Tools that are good in tight places

Portofino

Visit site
Thanks.
Should just be 4 bolts 13 mm .
2 on the air filter ( I can see one ) and another two on the tiny induction manifold at the cylinder head side .

Any tiny screws in hard to reach places like access underneath- will be the float bowl retaining screws .

You gonna need compressed air and ideally a ultrasonic bath to clean it up when disassembled.
In the bath I find acetone removes all varnish.Resit the temptation to poke fine wire down the jet(s)
Get your self a rebuild kit , new gaskets before embarking on diss assembly. With 2 strokes the air / fuel ratios are critical and any leaks will be very detrimental, as will distorted jets .

Take a note ( a pic ) of the serclip position on the needle .There will be three grooves it needs to reassembled as it came out .