Improving Disabled Sailing - University Student Project

iainmfraser

Visit site
I am currently a student in my final year studying Product Design and Innovation at Strathclyde University. I am a very keen sailor myself so for my honours project I have decided to look into the way that disabled people interact with boats and hopefully be able to design significant improvements to enable disabled users to sail with ease.
I am looking to find a small focus group of disabled sailors so that I can gain some insight into the current problems that are faced when on a yacht. I would really appreciate any sort of feedback and opinions that people may have on the project and if you would like to be involved please feel free to private message me, any input is very helpful at this stage.

JumbleDuck

Visit site
I am currently a student in my final year studying Product Design and Innovation at Strathclyde University. I am a very keen sailor myself so for my honours project I have decided to look into the way that disabled people interact with boats and hopefully be able to design significant improvements to enable disabled users to sail with ease.
I am looking to find a small focus group of disabled sailors so that I can gain some insight into the current problems that are faced when on a yacht. I would really appreciate any sort of feedback and opinions that people may have on the project and if you would like to be involved please feel free to private message me, any input is very helpful at this stage.

There is a disabled sailing group based at the Galloway Activity Centre on Loch Ken - they have recently moved from the Annandale Sailing Club at Lochmaben. Unfortunately I don't have their contact details, but I am sure that the centre would put you in touch - see www.lochken.co.uk.

They have three or four small monohulls and two or three trimarans, all made for wheelchair users.

Capt Popeye

Visit site
Yep an excellent much neglected project to get involved in.