Help needed...confused on power rating on boat

Jofcom

Visit site
Hi all,

newbie here.

Been looking around for a used boat since the past 9 months. I'm on a budget and quite specific with needs. (Worst combination ever)

Finally I came across a boat which ticks most of my boxes namely a 2006 Airon Marine 325 (33 footer) with twin Volvo Penta duo props diesel engines (240hrs) Boat is in very good condition and I really like the way the boat looks, my concern is about the powertrain used. The KAD32's (170hp) are renowned for reliability and I have no issue with that except that they have quite low hours for a 10 year old craft, however what i'm really worried about is that the boat might be underpowered and will suffer to keep on plane if loaded to max (i.e.: 10 pax full fuel and fresh water tanks (circa 600 litres total)

Whoever I spoke to in this field told me immediately that those engines are way too small for a boat that size and weight. The boat weighs 4000kg according to the manufacturers specifications and the 170hp KAD32 is a factory fit engine (albeit the smallest one available...other options included 190hp and 220hp nowadays)

I am concerned that the boat will not keep on plane or else to keep it there I would need to keep the throttle open to higher than cruising suggested RPM. On the other hand I just can't fathom the idea of why this craft is equipped with that powertrain from the factory if in reality it might be underpowered.

I have not conducted any sea trials yet but will do eventually. Any suggestions from you members in this forum will be appreciated. My true feeling at the moment is that my bubble has been burst after looking at endless boats and I finally found something that I like and satisfies all my needs.

Thanks

Whitelighter

Visit site