Frayed halyard - how much life is left?

conehead

Visit site
Hi,

I noticed yesterday that the halyard on my mainsail has frayed on one particular part. I think it might have been rubbing on the spreader as it's at the right height when the halyard is attached to the end of the boom, although I'm not sure how as I've been tying the line away from the mast when the boat isn't in use.

Anyway, I'm wondering how much life is left in the halyard at this point. Should I stop using it immediately and get a replacement, or will it be serviceable for a while to come and I should just keep an eye on it? I've not been sailing very long and I'm new to boat ownership too, so I don't really have any experience on this and would welcome (friendly) advice.

Cheers

Attachments

• 1000058227.jpg
    1000058227.jpg
    813.3 KB · Views: 64
  • 1000058224.jpg
    1000058224.jpg
    988.6 KB · Views: 64

Stemar

Visit site
If it's only the outer braid that's fraying, it's almost certainly fine for the rest of the season. All the same, there is that almost; it's a cheap repair, and I'll bet that it's been in use long enough that it doesn't owe you anything, so I'll go with the others - replace at your earliest convenience.

If it isn't that old, I'd want to know if there's something causing the wear - a seized pulley or something and address that at the same time

KevinV

Visit site
Paint a bright colour on the offending part to make it easier to see where it's chafing - sort that out before ruining a new halyard exactly the same. To me it looks really localised rather than just age. Personally I would replace asap - relatively cheap and easy to do, a world of grief if it parts unexpectedly.

Biggles Wader

Visit site
There is significant wear especially visible in your second picture and the other picture appears to show the rope has been pinched. Do you secure the halyard with a clutch or grip type cleat and would that be where the damage is? I'd definitely replace it.

andsarkit