Filling / Bleeding Diesel Heater?

Tim Good

Visit site
Ok so this is my first time doing this. I have an old webasto DW80.

How do I:

1: get all the existing water out of the system given that the heater and water values are higher then most of the water circuit.

2: once empty fill the system with pre mixed antifreeze mixture and bleed out air locks?

The manual just says do it with the hint of using a watering can held up high as a temporary header tank.

Any other tips?

David2452

Visit site
Ok so this is my first time doing this. I have an old webasto DW80.

How do I:

1: get all the existing water out of the system given that the heater and water values are higher then most of the water circuit.

2: once empty fill the system with pre mixed antifreeze mixture and bleed out air locks?

The manual just says do it with the hint of using a watering can held up high as a temporary header tank.

Any other tips?

Yes, dump the header tank and fit a pressure system. If you wish to retain the header, leave the outlet from the heater un tightened and with the pump running pop it off for a second, this will purge the heat exchanger. Arranging a temporary power source for the circulation pump is a good idea as you can do it all without getting scalded.

Tim Good

Visit site
If I can provide a temp supply to the pump could I just feed a hose to the intake of heater that leads to a bucket of antifreeze mix. Then fit the heater outlet as normal and run the pump? Would that pump the system full or at least full enough to cause an air lock and it will self bleed afterwards?

David2452

Visit site
If I can provide a temp supply to the pump could I just feed a hose to the intake of heater that leads to a bucket of antifreeze mix. Then fit the heater outlet as normal and run the pump? Would that pump the system full or at least full enough to cause an air lock and it will self bleed afterwards?