Evicted from mooring - legal perspective?

rosssavage

Visit site
Hi all.

I have been renting a liveaboard mooring for the last nine years. Today, all of the boats on the moorings (about 20) have been served notices to a ate so that the land owners can install and sell static houseboats on the mooring site.

They have given more than the required notice specified in our mooring agreements (42 days - we are expected to vacate by 19th April)

The problem is there are almost no liveaboard moorings elsewhere to accommodate us (upper Thames, Windsor area).

Where do we stand legally? If there are no available liveaboard moorings, do the council have an obligation to help? Can the mooring owners simply end the agreement with no obligation to assist us? Effectively we are being made homeless (arguably)

Any legal eagles on here have any advice?

Thanks in advance :)

Tranona

Visit site
You are about to experience the downside of living at the margins. In general private moorings even if residential are not covered by mainstream housing law. Your only rights are those in your contract with the owner.

Difficult say if the local council has any involvement as this will depend on your personal circumstances rather than the fact that you are being evicted from a private mooring contract.

Visit to the local CAB might be avoided starting point.

Richard10002

Visit site
What does the contract say they can do if you all sit tight and choose not to move on?

You will be in breach of contract, but I wonder what the penalty might be. They almost certainly wont be able to use force to move you on without a court order, and they are unlikely to be allowed to move your boats without your permission, (although they might do so, so it would be worth researching what could happen to them if they did).

rosssavage

Visit site
Nope, no council tax, but I don't need to.