EPIRB on a Plane?

ylop

Visit site
I spent 30 years as a commercial pilot, I don't agree. My attitude towards the jobsworths is because they never applied common sense or even stuck to their own rules. I could walk through the scanner stark bollock naked and still crash the plane even though they'd taken my nail scissors off me.
They are not paid to apply common sense. Presumably though no part of your pilot training was about religiously following a process even though 99.9% of the time it would be totally unnecessary? But I'll bet trying to go through naked does get you stopped!
My attitude borne from first hand experience and shared by my colleagues I'm afraid.
Your experience is probably driven as much by the way you, and other people wearing similar uniforms treat them.
The cabin crew were issued written warnings if they were caught with a bottle of water in their bag.
As you'll know - delaying a flight is hugely expensive, so if someone delays a flight by trying to take water through security it seems perfectly sensible to take action to stop that, especially since 95% of your customers manage it.
They were above the law, beyond criticism and completely untouchable no matter how blatantly they bullied aircrew with such obvious enjoyment - which everyone experienced on almost a daily basis.
Which law were they above?
Did crew who followed the rules get "bullied" or was it just those who failed to follow the simple (albeit possibly pointless) rules?