Competent Crew or Dayskipper certs, how different are they?

yesCDWplease

Visit site
I'm a beginner in this realm, so I'm sure there will be some silly questions....

A bit of background, I'm a mobo rental ditchrcawler on the Shannon system a few times a year for about five years now. But I want to be able charter a sailboat and SWIMBO is fully supportive in this endeavour.

To do that I'll need my Dayskipper.

My strengths are that I'd say my pilotage in close quarters is okay on account of being happy aft mooring a single engine 42' gin palace without bow thruster. Our lakes, while not massive do require a bit of transiting and way point searching. There is a regular crew, but they're a bit too busy with family stuff to ask them to get involved in this endeavour.

My conundrum is that a lot of CC seems really obvious. But I do need to learn how to sail at the same time. The day skipper syllabus seems pretty manageable, a lot of it just makes common sense. I'm just getting onto tide tables and navigation with a real chart but it is clicking in the noggin.

My question basically is, could I book my five days, aim for Dayskipper, but if I miss get my Competent Crew?

scotty123

Visit site
I'm a beginner in this realm, so I'm sure there will be some silly questions....

A bit of background, I'm a mobo rental ditchrcawler on the Shannon system a few times a year for about five years now. But I want to be able charter a sailboat and SWIMBO is fully supportive in this endeavour.

To do that I'll need my Dayskipper.

My strengths are that I'd say my pilotage in close quarters is okay on account of being happy aft mooring a single engine 42' gin palace without bow thruster. Our lakes, while not massive do require a bit of transiting and way point searching. There is a regular crew, but they're a bit too busy with family stuff to ask them to get involved in this endeavour.