Cheap liveaboard for a solo novice/dreamer.

CKG

Visit site
Hi, this is my first post. I have many questions. I will shoot a few of them at you guys in this post. Any comments will be gratefully appreciated.
Firstly, my plan is to find a yacht suitable for a solo novice but also something that will allow me to 'grow into it' rather than having to upgrade. I plan on living aboard. I'm 5'8" and used to roughing it so spacious luxury would be nothing more than a bonus. I'm hoping to spend no more than £3000 on a project yacht between 24'-30' with a sound hull and rigging that basically needs an interior re-fit (I'm a carpenter).
I want a boat that is sea worthy and isn't going to restrict me to coastal as my skill improves. Any recommendations?
My pipe dream is to cross the channel and work my way through the French waterways, therefore, avoiding the Bay of Biscay. This will allow me to enter the Balearic, Med, Aegean etc where I can get more hours under my belt and build up my competence. How many hours sailing/learning would you guys advice before taking on a passage like this? What certification is mandatory to allow me to do this? (Do I really need ICC?) What are the pitfalls? Things that may be obvious to you but not, necessarily to me.
I am toying with the idea of taking my tools with me to hopefully find work doing basic carpentry repairs/re-fits/upgrades on other boats. Is this a plausible reality? Do any of you know anyone doing anything similar?
Thanks in advance for any info.

sailaboutvic

Visit site
The first pitfall I can see is the £3000 you have to buy a boat , not sure what you think you may get for £3000 other then a black hole to pore money money into , sorry to bring a downer to your first posting .

CKG

Visit site
The first pitfall I can see is the £3000 you have to buy a boat , not sure what you think you may get for £3000 other then a black hole to pore money money into , sorry to bring a downer to your first posting .