Azimut v Princess charter....help!

pontypool

Visit site
Hello,

Newbie here popped on for a spot of advice about what to charter this year...

Don't know whether to go for a Azimut 42 flybridge or a Princess V48 for a week in Balearics in September. The thing is I have never been on a flybridge having for some years had a Sunseeker Apache 45 and don't know whether I'll like it.

Any comments either way would be gratefully received (and yes when I get time I will try and go and look at one in the UK, but the sooner we book the better the discount!).

There is only going to be four of us so there should be enough space on either I would imagine.....

Thanks in advance.....

jfm

Visit site
The flybr vs sportscruiser choice is very much a personal thing with plenty of folk in both camps. You kinda gotta choose for yourself. I'm in the flybr camp but out of those 2 boats I'd choose the princess becuase I'd rahter be in a 50 foot than 40 foot hull if there's any weahter

pontypool

Visit site
is it weird to helm from several feet further up and is sitting on anchor up there much more wobbly, if you know what i mean?

jfm

Visit site
Helming is fine - much better 360 view. Can be windy though, becuase less screen to protect you.

Yes it's more wobbly at anchor. Needs a skipper to be better at anchoring, eg use a kedge to make sure the boat points into the swell not the wind in some bays. If boat gets sideways onto the swell then the motion is worse than a sports cruiser. Mind you, with 4 of you you can sit downstairs in the aft cockpit

MapisM

Visit site
If you enjoyed the SS you're bound to appreciate the V48.
Re.bad weather, I'd actually go for a 42 flybridge rather than a 50 open.
If the weather is bad enough to really appreciate such hull difference, you'd better stay in the marina imho.
Whilst in "normal" bad weather, the FB has obvious advantages.

D

Deleted User YDKXO