Applying mast hoops in situ / steaming?

prv

Visit site
I know it's an old chestnut of a question, but I have two replacement mast hoops that I need to get onto KS's mainmast, and one onto the mizzen. Although the masts are down, they have fittings at masthead and base which I don't want to remove and which prevent me sliding the hoops over the ends.

The hoops have had the rivets drilled out (I asked Classic Marine to supply them loose, as offered on their site, but they ignored that request) and I think the spirals open up wide enough to wind onto the mast. If so, great, and I will then epoxy them back together, partly because I don't have the rivets and partly since it will add extra strength.

However, if I can't slip them onto the mast without risk of breakage, I presume I'll have to think about making them a bit more flexible using steam. I've never done this before, so any advice is welcome.

Pete

srp

Visit site
I use a wallpaper stripper to generate the steam, but if you haven't got one, or the 240v available to run it, then you could stick them in a pan of boiling water on the galley stove. 10 to 15 minutes should be enough assuming they are around 10mm thick.
Have some thick gloves handy, and a couple of small G cramps or similar to clamp them in position when you've sprung them over the mast. You'll have to leave them for a good few days to dry out before using epoxy, so it might be worth considering PU adhesive instead, which actually relies on moisture to cure. Use the existing rivet holes with a temporary nail through to line the joint up, then you can stick the rivets through at a later date.

prv

Visit site
I use a wallpaper stripper to generate the steam, but if you haven't got one, or the 240v available to run it, then you could stick them in a pan of boiling water on the galley stove.

Do you mean actually immerse them in the water? I didn't know you could do that. It certainly sounds easier than trying to control airborne steam.

Cheers,