Any advice for someone new to boating in Thames?

Oz23

Visit site
Dear all, I just entered this world of cruising by buying a new cuddy/cabin cruiser (Quicksilver 505 with Mercury 20) with few extra bits. I'm very new to boating with absolute zero experience, but it was something I always wanted to do, so I bit the bullet and decided to go ahead with it. It will be on water in 2 weeks and I'll use it with my family (wifey + 2 kids). I will keep the boat in Penton Hook and I'm open to any advice you have for me, what to pay attention, where to start learning etc.

Question, I was told if I don't pass any lock, I can actually use the boat without Thames license until Jan 1st. I would like to use this time just to learn steering, mooring and other bits and pieces in short distances on the weekends. Do you think this is possible, or does it worth buying the license for 5-6 weeks?

Regarding insurance, I was told insurance changes if I use the boat on tidal and non-tidal Thames. I haven't seen any difference when I made quotes online. Of course, I have no plan to use it beyond Teddington any time soon, but just to make sure, is this something I need to decide now and buy the license?

Finally, is there anyone living near Penton Hook marina, who would be interested teaching me practical details for 2 hours or so? Thanks all in advance.

No Regrets

Visit site
Firstly, Hi and welcome!

I doubt you will be going too far in that boat, as it's a small open vessel with no apparent toilet (I stand to be corrected!)

While you certainly should be able to punt it around with no licence, you might get some stick from the rest of us who actually pay for the privilege every year. You should have a licence if it's floating, even in Penton Hook.