Adding 2nd battery to boat with outboard?

SnaxMuppet

Plymouth, Devon, UK, Europe, Earth, Milky Way, Uni
Visit site
I have a Merry Fisher 625 which has an outboard charging a 110AHr battery. I have added a small Waeco fridge and clearly I am at risk of running the battery flat and not being able to start and so I would like to add a 2nd battery.

I have already got a suitable smaller battery that I would like to keep as a starter only and use the existing one as a domestic. Is this possible with an outboard and if so what would I need to do to add the 2nd battery?

The engine is a Suzuki DF115 with a 40A alternator.

I am not very good with boat DIY so is this something I should perhaps get a professional to do or is it completely dead easy?

breezer5012

Visit site
We'll do you a deal - you gut the many mackeral we are bound to catch tommorow and Paul will sort your battery /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif.

Birdseye

Visit site
Its simple. You need to be able to separate the engine starting circuit and the domestics. Then wire the large battery to supply the domestics and the small one for engine starting.

Have either a simple switch or a relay energised by the changing circuit so connect the domestic battery to the laternator (ie in parallel with the starter battery) when the engine is running so that the alternator charges the domestic battery, The engine starter battery is permanently connected up to the alternator

You can use the common 12v 30 amp relays available from any car electrical shop. best do it that way because you will forget a manual switch.

William_H

Visit site
Birds eye there are problems with this simple relay approach.
If the starter battery is low (or old) it will try to start the engine with current coming mostly from the domestic battery via your 30 amp relay which will melt. On the other hand if the domestic is low it will tend to drag down the starting performance of the start battery (and again melt)