Absolute beginner

G

I am at the time of life whereby boating could become a reality - i.e. financially and familywise. Could I please have some advice on the realities of running costs, how I can try it out to see if I like it, practicalities of maintenance, obtaining moorings, training I need and so on. I live near the Sharpness-Gloucester canal and would hope to have a boat nearby and be able to do both inland and coastal cruising. The advice I've had so far suggests a moderate sized cruiser between say 27-34 feet, twin diesel for the nominally best of both worlds. Any thoughts?

ccscott49

Visit site
Try chartering a boat somewhere first, you can try a canal cruiser, or the norfolk broads or somewhere else, the Shannon in Ireland is magnificent! You can then expand your horizons. Training can be obtained through any RYA training base, try your local night school, are there any yacht/boating clubs near you? a good starting point. By the way welcome to the water! Colin.

trev

Visit site
After a holiday or two on a hire boat you then need to set yourself a budget and go boat hunting. The brokerage in the magazines is a good place to start. then while your going around looking at boats you can also see what moorings are available and at what cost.- It all varies.
Above all be practical (so far as this hobby permits) and make sure you buy a boat that does the job you require. DONT buy a boat which is too small for your needs even if it might 'do at a pinch'. Talk to the boating types at the marinas you visit and also to the owners of boat models which take your interest( other than the vendor). It's not absolutely necessary to have any formal training but I would advise some instruction before going to sea.
Definitely go for diesels !!
We enjoyed the whole experience of boat buying and getting afloat, now on our fifth boat after over twenty years and love every minute of it (even the bad times are good).
Best of luck

Trev

johnt

Visit site