a few boat comforts ...

rkane

Visit site
we've just bought a 32' steel boat and intend to live aboard her and let the house. At present, she's just got very basic systems on her - cold manual water and two betteries charging from an alternator - one for engine and one for lights / nav equipment. into this system we want to add hot water, a cabin heater, a fridge and, possibly, a small dehumidifier such as the new 12v model from Desivent.( At the moment the boat suffers quite badle from condenstation - especially in the forecabin - although we will be improving the insulation over this winter which should help) The problem is, as complete novices in this area of boating, we're completely overwhelmed by the number of options that exist. What we could do with is some advice from people who already have 'complete' systems up and running. we are thinking of investing in a small generator to keep up with electrical requirements as we will have only very infrequent access to shore power and quite like the idea of a dickinson type cabin heater rather than a blown air system. We are also thinking of fittting a calorifier for water heating. Are these good ideas? Thanks ever so much in advance if you can give us any advice.

<hr width=100% size=1>

ccscott49

Visit site
Dickinson heater, good idea, doesn't use battery power, calorifier, also good idea as long as you are using your engine, to heat the water. Genny very good idea, if you have the room, I don't think you will have for an installed system in 32 feet. De-humidifier, no, insulate instead. Increase your sometic battery capaicty and put a smart reulator on your alternator, maybe also uprate to a larger alternator. Basically your questions leave a lot of room, you need to decide what your priorities are, cold beer etc. and your cruising grounds, then we can be of more help, good luck, keep asking!

<hr width=100% size=1>

AndrewB

Visit site
Yes agree, its a good list but ...