Inboard or Outboard on Fletcher 19GTS/O

andyjcox1

Visit site
Hi all,

I am new to this and wondered if anyone could shed any light on my dilemma.

I am looking at buying a Fletcher 19GTS or GTO, and need some info on running costs as it makes quite a difference to what boat I go for. I have been told that a 100hp 4 stroke outboard will be alot cheaper on fuel and quieter to run compared to a 4.2 Mercruiser EFI Petrol inboard. I like the fact the inboard gives you a full bathing platform, but does anyone know roughly how much more expensive it will be on petrol (if it is) for say a day out cruising and an hour or so skiing?

Thanks for any help, Andy

landlockedpirate

Visit site
I have the 4.3l in my Fletcher. At cruising speeds (22-25kts) it does about 8gph. At WOT (40kts) its a lot more thirsty 16gph. For messing about, skiing, towing ringos etc I find the tank lasts all day.

The outboard version will be more economical, its a lot lighter for a start (Around 500kg) but you do loose the full platform and the ability to carry and inflated tender.

I would be happy with either version, but I would suggest that a 100hp outboard should be the minimium you want.

AquapartPhil

www.aquapart.co.uk
Hi Andy,
I agree with Marks comments, Inboards are lovely to own (nicer lines etc) and they generally fetch a bit more money than the equivalent outboard when you come to sell, however they generally need more maintenance than outboards because at best they are a compromise in that they are a marinised automotive engine coupled to half an outboard with all the associated mechanical issues, ie, taking the drivetrain from horizontal to vertical via the input shaft etc and allowing the drive to turn and tilt via universal joints whilst running, (plus keeping all that dry).