WTF are people paying £60k for a camper van with 100k miles on the clock? And a decent Westerly is under £15k 😀

guardian

Visit site
Well you beat me to it I'm already 57 & still working. Been living on boats last 13 years, now on number 6 I've usually made a bit when I've sold them on. I did try a camper for a year just to see when I was between boats, a coachbuilt, all I did was put a couple of big solar panels on the roof and added a couple of extra house batts. It worked surprisingly well the coachbuilts being well insulated & double glazed but if I was going FT I'd favour something like your set up for obvious reasons. Vans are without doubt cheaper & easier than boats...

Yep van life as a hobby/living arrangement is super simple, i had the bonus of already owning the van, joiner by trade so it was a case of empty out the tool storage and putting in the appropriate bits and bobs to make living aboard easy.

Contrary to the statement that opened this thread i've met people especially older women who have converted mini vans, think fiesta, Berlingo sized vehicles that live in them full time that haven't spent more than a few grand buying the vehicle and fitting it out, from my experience there's thousands in this country living under the radar in this way of all ages and genders.

When i think of the money i poured into my Centaur project over the 11 years it was in my possession (£25K ) i felt rather comforted pulling back £13K selling everything off after skipping the hull, deck & keels, infact i'd say if anyone finds themselves stuck with a project thats gone sideways, part it out for money.

But in terms of living aboard for me its a van over a boat although just after the credit crunch (2009) I found a Westerly Conway that was up for £8000! It was a mess and aboard but thought i could live on it, this was before i got neck deep with my Centaur project and i'm glad i didnt buy it.