Water&Holding Tank Flush Through/ Cleaning.

jandnrowe

Visit site
Hi all, welcome to the new season - or whenever you start.
The boats been sealed up over winter and as I'm new to WC Holding Tanks - is there anything I need to do cleaner wise before 1st use. It's never been used as far as I'm aware.
Similarly the empty water tank?

Momac

Visit site
Since you say the holding tank has never been used and assuming its not a new boat I would say check any diverter valves and sea cocks are working .
I use a dose of Odourlos added via the toilet after each holding tank pump out but the choice of toilet holding tank chemical or none at all is up to you.

For the fresh water tank I fill the tank and open the taps /shower to give the pipes a good flush through.
This also helps flush out air from the pipework.
Some folks like to add sterilising chemical eg Milton to the water . I did do this when the boat was new to me as it had stood unused a long while . But ordinarily I just add water an flush at the start of the season.
However I do avoid drinking tank water .

jandnrowe

Visit site
Cheers for the quick response. I'll check the sea cocks and diverter are still good when I return to the boat. How much Milton do you add? Do I need an costco sized order?😀

oldgit

Visit site
My boat has a seperate pump to directly empty black water tank tank into the sea ( a suitable distance off shore of course) .
Pump decided to quit when tank poo was of course full.
After first checking power connections and diverter valve was operating correctly, searched for price of new pump.........Ouch. £450.00
Nothing for it, put peg on nose, remove pump,and dismantle.

The pump chamber was jammed solid with pieces of what could be called politely "limescale" which was preventing the bellows from moving in any direction at all, a good clean and soon all working again, also cleaned the joker valves which were also clogged solid.