volvo engine trouble

G

I have a Birchwood 22 circa 1977 with a volvo penta AQ115A, 2 litre, 4 cylinder petrol engine. When starting the engine I often rev. it to aprrox. 3-3500 RPM. with no problems but when underway if I try to increase the RPM. to >1800 it simply does not happen;it sounds as if the engine will stall and I have to pull the throttle back and then it runs qiute happily at a lower RPM. I am new to boats and am not sure what could be causing this and what I can do about it. The previous owner {7 years} I believe, maintained the boat well but rarely ran the boat faster than 15-1600RPM. to "protect the engine" any advice would be appreciated.

G

Do you do your baoting on the river? Could be your prop.

Attachments

• 368.jpg
    368.jpg
    3.2 KB · Views: 0
G

will the boat drive throw it mite be a flat spot ,most boat have got spot there not happy with

G

can't seem to get it thru' this "spot", just does'nt go no matter how much I push the throttle

G

Have you checked to see if the prop is clean? ie free from marine growth, barnacles etc.

G

Alan Could your problem be fuel starvation,it takes a lot more fuel to run the engine under load than reving in neutral.

Good luck

G

Having run a Birchwood 27 with twin 2 litre BMW's, I know of your problems. Off load your engine should be capable of going much higher than 3500, typically 4500. If it does not then it sounds like one or more of the following.

1/ Partially blocked primary fuel filter- the cartrige type- situated between tank & engine. Replace-they are quite cheap-£4.

2/ Carbon cored ignition leads or the in-lead supressors- renew the lot. £15

3/ Spark plugs- renew the lot-£12

4/ Renew distributor capacitor - and points £10

5/ Re-new air filters- ensure free airflow

6/ Re-set ignition timing with strobe- check advance as revs rise