Vat on 2 year old French yacht

cloud7

Visit site
The knowledge of the forum is required , has speaking to our neighbors last evening ang they are in process of buying a 2 year old French yacht ( without vat ) apparently it was leased . Found conversation very interesting , has any members advice I could pass on .
Thks

Tranona

Visit site
When the lease is finished, either the term is complete or the boat is sold then the leasing company is responsible for accounting for the VAT so the buyer gets a VAT paid boat with documentary proof that there is no outstanding VAT liability. The buyer should ensure that is what he is going to get for the price he is paying and sees the necessary documents before making the final payment.

Dave100456

Visit site
I'm no expert and no doubt Tranona will enlighten us but when when the 3yr lease is complete and the finance company account for the vat, what happens if the boat is outside the EU?

I understood that if a boat is vat paid but sold outside EU it looses its VAT paid status.

Also, you need to check the lease agreement; does it require you to keep the boat outside EU for the term of the lease; 3 yrs. If a VAT paid boat is outside EU for 3 years it looses its VAT paid status.

Confused!

Last edited:

Tranona

Visit site
I'm no expert and no doubt Tranona will enlighten us but when when the 3yr lease is complete and the finance company account for the vat, what happens if the boat is outside the EU?

I understood that if a boat is vat paid but sold outside EU it looses its VAT paid status.

Also, you need to check the lease agreement; does it require you to keep the boat outside EU for the term of the lease; 3 yrs. If a VAT paid boat is outside EU for 3 years it looses its VAT paid status.

Confused!

No need to feel bad about the confusion - it is confusing!