Suggestions to re coat topsides.

steveeasy

Visit site
Hi,
Found a new boat that needs its topsides sorting. they have been painted, (not Good should walk away) Any ideas what can be done to redo the gelcoat, and prices for professional Job. Im no expert in this field and it needs a good finish. its 31ft.

Thanks

Steveeasy

Tranona

Visit site
Number of choices. Simplest and cheapest is to just rub down and repaint. You can get a really good finish with Toplac if you do a good job with preparation. The finish is fairly durable- anything up to 10 years without fading and easy to touch up. Next up is 2 pot polyurethane. Longer lasting and arguably better finish, but requires more skill to apply and is not so tolerant of less than ideal conditions. However it cannot be applied over conventional paint so you have to be sure of what the existing finish is and if necessary remove it all first. Professional spray finish is better long term but inevitably expensive and best done under cover in controlled conditions. This, of course makes it very expensive and cost is often out of proportion to the value of an older boat of that size. Stripping gel coat and regelling is also possible but like spraying is expensive.

Plenty of useful information on coatings on the websites of the major paint manufacturers such as International, Hempels and Epifanes.

richardsn9

Visit site
Wrapping seems to be gaining in popularity, especially on the south coast. More expensive than the DIY options, but a lot cheaper than having it sprayed. Try a google on 'wrapping for boats'.

doug748

Visit site
2 to 3 grand for a spray paint or re gelcoat. Not worth it unless you intend to keep the boat long term or it is a Rassy or some such. Mind you common sense never stopped anyone spending money on a boat.

Of the two, re gelcoating gets my vote, all fancy paints go on thin and are easily damaged. White is the sensible colour.