Spare Air, Emergency air cylinder.

capnsensible

Visit site
Anyone used one? Looking for feedback.

Lots of places use the 'lazy line' way of mooring boats, inevitably resulting in the odd tangle round the prop.

Im wondering if this device might be useful to give one time to sort that out, or actually any prop/rope love affair!

Recently having someone on board who, by sheer bad luck, introduced a line to a prop on my boat, Im looking for ways ahead. My very nice next door neighbour lent me a wetsuit (kindness....it meant I had to go in!!) but staying under is not easy and I hate swallowing gallons of seawater.

Appreciate any comments, ta.

Monique

Visit site
I was a diving instructor and am conservative on these matters.

IMO, repeat IMO, get a real course and buy real scuba gear. What is your life worth?

capnsensible

Visit site
I was a diving instructor and am conservative on these matters.

IMO, repeat IMO, get a real course and buy real scuba gear. What is your life worth?

Thanks, but yeah, completed Open Water Diver course and have done quite a bit in places (various).

All I am looking for is a few safe minutes under the prop, say 1 metre. With those constraints, is it good?

Skylark

Visit site
Just don't see the point of one, frankly. Not enough air to be of any use and enough air to put you in a position of risk, IMHO.

I'm guessing their water content to be about 0.5l. Working pressure, again a guess, 232 bar, that's about 200 bar "cold" or 100 litres to consume. Standard assumed air consumtion at the surface is a breathing rate of 25 litre per minute. Empty tank in 4 minutes at the surface. Now dive, albeit a couple of metres(2m = 20% more consumption), now add a bit of work, either scrubbing the hull or wrestling a snake around the prop.

If you have a basic dive qualification, you'd be better to buy second hand gear and keep it on the boat, again, IMHO.

I'm an active BSAC diver / instructor with >1000 dives in my logbook.

Seajet

Visit site