Qualification & the Med

richardknight

Visit site
We're moving abroad and the boat is going to new home in a marina in NE Spain, we'll be living in France. Although we've sailed for 6 or 7 years now, we don't have any formal qualification save Day Skipper Theory. The yacht will remain English registered for a year or two.

Any ideas what the French or Spanish autorities view would be of us? Should we quickly get onto a Day Skipper Practical course and then get the ICC from the RYA, or can it wait 6 months or so with no real hassle?

Many thanks,

Richard

<hr width=100% size=1>

lindsay

Visit site
Six years permanent pottering in Spain, Italy and France and I have NEVER been asked for a proof of qualification-maybe because I have a Yachtmaster Ocean. However better to have a piece of paper of some sort just in case, especially for Spain where I hear the authorities can be difficult, especially if they think you are vulnerable ie a house owner locally. Re registration, why think of changing from UK? In France it is a distinct disadvantage to be French registered. You may have to juggle a bit with perceived residencies, but have yet to find anyone who has changed registrations voluntarily.

<hr width=100% size=1>

richardknight

Visit site
Interesting... our situation is that we would be French resident. We're moving lock, stock and barrel, but would like to keep the boat UK registered really mainly so we don't have to go through the French registration system for boats and people (i.e. certifications). Are there other reasons why it would be a dis-advantage to change the boat to French registered?

Nice to hear that you've never been asked for any piece of paper to prove qualifications. We're just checking now to see if I at least can squeeze a course in before we go (4 weeks time).

Thanks,

Richard

<hr width=100% size=1>

colvic

Visit site