new boat

G

thinking of buying a sunseeker comargue 46 whith 550 detroit engines anybody got experience whith them?

<hr width=100% size=1>

david_steward

Visit site
Plenty of people say some unkind things about the Detroit diesels., they are a bit strange being 2 strokes. I have no personal experience of them but you can find out all you would need to know on a US site.

www.boatdiesel.com

They have a large forum section with many knowledgable users.

The 46 Carmargue was a popular boat and we looked at it seriously but went for a similar Princess instead. The Sunseeker seemed much more dated by comparison and I didn't fancy the stern cabin arrangement at all.

The Carmargue we looked at was in Brighton and was an absolute disgrace. The Broker should have hung his head in shame at showing it to us in its stinking rotten condition.

Good Luck.

<hr width=100% size=1>We don't want a sports cruiser, totally impractical. Err ok then.

Dave S

NorthernWave

Visit site
Very nice, looked at one myself, very good value for what you get. The only thought I would have is research the engines as I'm not sure how good those engines are for parts etc.

Chris

<hr width=100% size=1>Logged Sea Miles wanted for masters. Send PM if your on south coast and want skipper or crew.

tcm

Visit site
There have been no horor stories which i can recall on this forum. 1100hp must mean that the engines aren't very stressed. Let a surveyor judge the mechanicals, whilst you ensure that you are happy with overall condition and make sure that it'll do all you want - inlcuding sleeping enough people incl any mates who need to come along/be shown off at.

<hr width=100% size=1>

Renegade_Master

Visit site
dont like the sound of two stroke diesels (in more ways then one) but ten I'm no mechanic

<hr width=100% size=1><A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.suncoastmarine.co.uk>Sun Coast Sea School & Charter</A>

longjohnsilver

Visit site