Mast head rig/mast bend

cameronke

Visit site
I have a mast head rig and noticed that I have a fair degree of mast bend even with no back stay tension. The bend appears to be due to the sweep back/tension of the spreaders/cap shrouds. Could the spreaders possibly have to much aft sweep?

All comments greatly appreciated

Regards
Cameron

<hr width=100% size=1>Work to live, live to sail

Aja

Visit site
Cameron

Pre-bend is not neccessarily a bad thing. On a mast-head rig you should induce pre-bend by using the cap shrouds. This will stop the mast 'inverting' or pumping.

How much pre-bend is the question? Well On my 10 meter mast I have about 2" (nice mixture of metric/imperial there..) which is not excessive. I can also wind a bit more on my adjustable baby stay. This is before backstay tension.

One problem when inducing pre-bend is that your forestay becomes slacker. You are not bending the mast back rather you are compressing it in column.Thats when backstay tension comes into effect.

The spreaders need to be swept back slighty to get pre-bend. Mine are not adjustable fore and aft.

Regards

Donald

<hr width=100% size=1>

boatless

Visit site
As Donald says, helps to stop 'inversion' (mast getting negative bend). An absolute maximum is 3 diameters of bend, but one diameter is normal.

(A diameter meaning the fore and aft length of the mast - and a line stretched between the aft end of the foot to the aft end of the head would be one diameter away from the aft face of the mast at mid-height) Hope that's clear, makes sense to me?

<hr width=100% size=1>

William_H

Visit site