Liveaboard in Marina/Thames

SL24

Visit site
Hi,

I’m new to the world of motor boats. I have lived on a widebeam on a canal for a while and I’m now looking for a liveaboard motor boat.

The main purpose for me would be to live on it in a marina with relatively easy commute to London. I would like to do the occasional cruise on the the Thames and maybe a short costal cruise holiday once a year.

I’m totally overwhelmed with the different type of boats and would appreciate some help. I have started to read intensely and get as much information as possible.

My budget for the boat would be £60k. I also budget for another 20k for possible refits and upgrades. If the boat is already in really good condition then the budget is 80k.

I’m particularly interested in what boat work well in a marina and on the Thames for some cruising. Ideally it has 2 cabins, kitchenette, decent size saloon and a little deck for entertaining.
I understand that for my budget I have to look at boats that are older, 70’s, 80’s. Also keen to know if that budget is realistic. There are obviously boats out there in that price range, but surely maintenance costs need to be considered for these oldies.

I’d love to hear your experiences or opions so I get more information and can start looking at a few boats, narrow down my choices during that process, learn much more and finally make a purchase next year.

Many thanks,
Steven

Tranona

Visit site
Welcome to the forum

Your budget is realistic for a single , or low powered twin engine boat. However your biggest challenge will actually finding a marina berth with a residential licence - or indeed any berth at all. Do your research on this before even thinking of buying a boat.

V1701

Visit site
Hi & welcome,