Indicator light for jabsco par max 3 pump

Malcolm3

Visit site
i have a jabsco pump which automatically activates when a tap is opened to supply fresh water. Unfortunately I can’t hear it running above the engine noise. Is it possible to wire an indicator light to show when the pump is running? .

Malcolm3

Visit site
That just shows that you have power supplied to pump and will always Be on even if the pump isn’t running as it’s pressure switch has stopped it

Sandy

duckduckgo.com
What problem are you trying to solve?

You would need to find some form of flow sensor and then fit it to the outflow of the pump, then rig up some instrumentation to show when the pump is active. RS Components have a few flow meters.

I also have the same pump and understand your issue, but given that the tap needs to be open for the pump to be active there is usually somebody at the tap.

PaulRainbow

Visit site
i have a jabsco pump which automatically activates when a tap is opened to supply fresh water. Unfortunately I can’t hear it running above the engine noise. Is it possible to wire an indicator light to show when the pump is running? .

Fit the light where you want it and connect a negative wire to it.

There is a red wire between the pressure switch and the end of the pump, splice a wire to this and route it to the positive terminal of the light.

Job done.

Malcolm3

Visit site
I may be doing something wrong but using an LED stopped the motor running entirely presumably as its high resistance just stops any current at all. However even with an ordinary bulb I found if the light came on the pump didn’t and vice versa. Will try Paul rainbows solution and report back. The problem is the pressure switch and the pump are in a single sealed unit I thought but will check.

Malcolm3

Visit site
What problem are you trying to solve?