Fairline Phantom 40

G

I would be grateful for any opinions or advice as I am considering purchsing one as a first boat Many thanks in anticipation

G

Hi, Its a huge boat to have for your first boat! have you ever tried to skipper a boat of this size before? I think It would be better to start off with something a little smaller if its your first time using a boat! At least try and find a marina with lots of space!! other owners will not be too impressed if you go crashing into them because you cant handle something this big! also you may find insurance hard to get if you dont have any experience in handling boats.

Good Luck

Barry

PS. I have a lovely Flybridge Seamaster for sale, its 9.5mts (30') and it feels quite large a boat to handle and I have been boating for 12 years now. You can see it: www.seamasterclub.co.uk.

G

I would'nt agree with Barry. If it's the right size for you and your family, then go for it. The Phantom 40/42 is a popular model so it should look after your money, it has an Olesinski hull so it's a good sea boat, it's a Fairline so it should'nt fall apart. Get some 2-3 days intensive training on handling it, do a RYA Day Skipper course and then just go out and use it 'coz the best way to gain knowledge is thru' experience

G

Not having yet bought our first boat, I'm not too sure that I should enter the fray on this one but I have the following comments.

Our target first boat would be the new Fairline Phantom 43 because it would have the space and facilities that we want. Whilst it has crossed our minds about the size, it has not loomed large in our considerations. It's the size of boat that we want and it's the size that we'll learn in so we won't know anything any different.