Evoiko Sea Centre Boatyard

Gypsyjoss

Visit site
Hi Guys
Seeing as there seems to be a shortage of good yards, I thought I'd put a plug in for this place which I've been using as a base for 4 years to explore the Sporades and Cyclades. Rod is rather dismissive in his pilots, though Rob Buttress does a fair description in his West Aegean Cruising Companion (they both incorrectly call it the Evia Sea Centre)
It's on the mainland opposite Evia just north of Khalkoutsi. It's family run by Zacharios Krina and Dennis Marinos, flat, clean, is secure, and has a shower/toilet block that SWMBO would approve of. Also a Cafe and WiFi. Room for about !50 yachts stored on steel cradles. Will take monohulls up to 14m LOA and 2.5m draught. Uses hydraulic trailor/tractor combination to pull you in. Athens airport 2 hours max by bus -no need to go into Athens. Khalkoutsi - nice town, 15 mins walk away, tavernas, good supermarket, paint shops etc, no chandlery, but Athens only an hour away. Can work on own boat. Elec and Water.

Most trades available on site (has a workshop). Zacharias Marinos (boss) has a mooring buoy outsidethe yard and a reserved place in Khalkoutsi harbour (2 metre depth).

Downside - Sometimes have to wait 12 hours for the wind to die down so he can haul you in.
I've stayed overnight in the harbour but you can go on the buoy or anchor off Khalkoutsi. 11pm curfew - resident security guy has to go to bed!

Rates - competitive- phone or email to find out.

Contact - via website or tel 22950 71963 (speaks English) also VHF Ch 71
Position 38deg20'.46N 23deg43'.60E

That's it. Not evena free Frappe for this! Just want to help the Greek economy!

Pete

vyv_cox

coxeng.co.uk