Easiest swap for MD2B

coopec

N/A
Visit site

jakeroyd

Visit site
Welcome back Dylan.
Nice to see you on here again.
I do see the attraction of a Fisher 25 , a dose of something similar to 'Centaurness' with a top on for when it's grim.

ghostlymoron

Visit site
I think it's a bit of a red herring to think that all VPs are compatible. As far as I know, VP no longer manufacture complete engines as in the MD1 days, they use industrial engines as a base and fit the marinisation parts so there is no reason a new VP engine should fit an old VP mount.
The usual recommendation for engine replacement is a Beta or Nanni which I think are based on Kubota engines with in house marine parts such as heat exchanger and wet exhaust. I've no experience of Nanni but have been to Beta's factory in Gloucester when a friend bought one of their units. Their staff were extremely helpful and he managed to get a free set of Beta red overalls thrown into the deal. He's got a 3 cylinder 20 hp I think and it's wonderfully smooth and quiet. Beta will supply adapters to fit it to the existing mounts.

Tranona

Visit site
Any of the modern engines will fit but you will need to modify the beds and replace items such as propeller exhaust controls etc which are either incompatible or worn out. Budget £5-6k for something like a Beta 25 and parts plus. £1500+ for professional installation.

Tranona

Visit site
Not surprising for an engine that went out of production nearly 40 years ago.

It really is not a problem fitting a modern engine. Thousands of boats have had it done and new engines are far superior..

You do tend to see problems that are not there.

Topcat47

Visit site
Hi Dylan,