Domestic Battery Bank How Big?

Sneds

Visit site
Having just replaced the starter battery, a beast with 1000 cold cranking amps, I now need to change the three domestic batteries
Currently 3 X 140AH = 420
Would 3 X 110 AH 330 be enough?
I have two fridges drawing 4 amps each and all the lights are led
I have tried, and failed, to find out was was fitted when the boat was new? Sealine F36 1999
Anyone know?
I will probably go for the 3 X 140AH for peace of mind but they are much more expensive

We don't spend much time off grid, the odd night up river towards Worcester after a night at a Gloucester or a night at Mermaid Quay in Cardiff but we normally plug in

rafiki_

Visit site
Iain,

Do you have a gennie? Raf has 2x140 ah, but we have the gennie when needed. Where you cruise you aren’t likely to be off the grid in a nice peaceful anchorage, given the tidal flow?

Momac

Visit site
In all I have 11 years experience of boating with frequent stays away from shore power.

My F33 has two 110Ah batteries . I have often stayed 48 hrs with no shore power with no problems (one fridge). Still able to start the starboard engine from the domestic bank. Your domestic bank starts the port engine I believe ? I do have a separate battery for the bow thruster . I think your domestic bank powers the thruster?

For your occasional one night stays 3 x 110Ah should be more than sufficient.
I would suggest you consider turning off the beer fridge when you arrive at your mooring.

My first boat had one 110Ah domestic battery and we took holidays up to two weeks on that with some boat travel each day to recharge the battery and only occasional hook up to shore power.

Sneds

Visit site
Yes we have a genie if needed so should never reach crisis point

The bow thruster has it's own battery under the island bed and yes the domestic bank starts the port engine