Cruising from Lefkada - recommendations

Rosie1963

ramblinginrosie.blogspot.co.uk
I am totally new to Greece but it has piqued my interest after a couple of poor summers in the UK, with the longer term view of having a boat permanently there. I would like to explore its islands and was considering sailing from Vliho, Lefkada as an initial base.

• What are the recommendations using Vliho as base on two week holiday to get a feel for the area?
  • What are the must see/do islands if based in Greece for a more substantial period of time.

Tranona

Visit site
Just go. You can do all the main spots in the S Ionian in 2 weeks, or you can spend a week going north towards Corfu and a week south. Suggest you buy the Heikell Ionian pilot book as it covers everything. We all have our favourite places, but there are really no bad places although there is not much on Zakinthos. Plenty of choice of lively and rustic. Avoid July and August if you can as too hot and crowded.

We had our boat in Corfu for the first 10 years of this century but still had places we did not visit, mainly because for most of the time our trips were only a week or 2 so the tendency was to stick to the known. However we did have 2 years when the boat was in Levkas. We preferred Corfu because there is more to do than sailing and often set aside a couple of days for land based activities. Flights are also much more convenient and better choice because they are scheduled rather than linked to holidays as many to Preveza.