Council tax

nimbusgb

www.umfundi.com
Apparently about 150 boats have been served with letters of intent to impose council taxes in Brighton Marina. I have just seen a letter mailed to a liveaboard by the VOA in Eastbourne so this is genuine.

It raises all sorts of issues no doubt with the cross over between a leased mooring, vat payable, taxable value and all sorts of rights and regulations.

Anyone else know what is going to happen about this?

Last edited:

SeamanStaines

Visit site
I have had some experience of this. This was in Wales and a few years ago so it may have changed.

My understanding is that it is only chargeable providing the boat never actually moves out of the area. If for example you have a 'houseboat' that does not spend some part of the year away from the marina cruising then council tax is potentially chargeable (I think for this purpose it needs to be more than the odd afternoon out though!). A normal yacht liveaboard where the boat is away for some weeks or months 'breaks' the provision.

However, a proportionate rate is charged on static caravans (or permanently based touring caravans) and I suspect this is what they are trying to get.

In Swansea's case they decided at the time that whilst it was technically chargeable it would cost more to collect than the value so did not bother

dt4134

Visit site
Apparently about 150 boats have been served with letters of intent to impose council taxes in Brighton Marina. I have just seen a letter mailed to a liveaboard by the VOA in Eastbourne so this is genuine.

They could reply to the Brighton letters from Eastbourne and the Eastbourne one from Brighton.

Or better still Fecamp.

chinita

Visit site
The whole paragraph says 'unless with the express permission of the marina manager'.

Exactly, I wonder how many have the express permission of the Marina Manager?

All of them? How does the marina manager justify this to HQ Premier Marinas?