Canvassing Engineers to contribute to potential self parking and recovering dingy for yachts. “Dingy, come and get me” “Dingy, go dock on the boat”

Savannah

Visit site
Hello engineers. I’m a retired engineer looking for others who don’t die laughing when I say a self parking dingy shouldn’t be too hard. It would collect a person from shore or drop them off before docking itself back on the yacht. The dingy lives on the yacht.

Initially very much an amateur activity and more for fun than profit. So consider it non-commercial as it needs to be to be on this forum.

I have a pretty good idea of how to do this and what technologies have arisen recently that would make this possible. However, I want to start with an open brainstorming and just see who might be willing to put some time and resources into this and what ideas they have.

There are a few subsystems that could easily be worked on by different people.

Dingy propulsion,control guidance.
Yacht winch control and position.
Dingy to yacht dock system.
Yachtsman remote control/mobile phone
Communications and security

I’m ignoring the political and legislative aspects right now.

I am pretty sure I can do this alone but it would take me around a year and I have other things I want to do. So I think it will require at least 3 people with a range of skills and preferably 5.

There maybe companies already working on this. Maybe companies that would donate electric outboards or something. There maybe a solution somewhere - I’ve not found it.

I live in London and my boat is in canvey island. If you’re interested introduce yourself, your expertise and your location in a message here. Try not to start the brain storming but rather introduce yourself and say how you are willing to contribute or if you are just interested to follow from sidelines. I will do the same and hope that tumble weed doesn’t blow through. :0)

Carl

Last edited:

Savannah

Visit site
My name is Carl