Buying Spanish Yacht in Italy - advice please!!

Jason T

Visit site
Hi,
I am looking at buying a 2007 Jeanneau from the original Spanish owner. He has moved to Italy and the boat is now moored there. I am a UK resident and will continue to be so but want to cruise the Med in semi retirement. I plan to cruise the eastern Med and will duck in and out of the EU as my visa allows but I like the ides of a EU VAT paid boat so that we aren't bothered by the 18 month rule and we can leave her ashore if we need to. I have been spooked by the Spanish registration and some horror stories of the Spainish Tax man chasing you but i think that applies to Spanish residents?

1) Am I correct in thinking that as long as the yacht is deregistered from the Spanish registers with proof and I register her as a UK vessel (probably part 1 to avoid complications in Greece) then that is all I need to do or am I missing something? Any advice on what documents I need and proof for the future etc most welcome.

2)I also assume that if I have the original bill of sale to the original owner and then a bill of sale from him to me then that should satisfy EU customs on proving EU VAT paid? I plan to use a copy of the RYA or MCA bill of sale.

3) How do I confirm that there is no mortgage or charges against the yacht?

Many Thanks
Jason

Tranona

Visit site
Sound move. The deregistration will be enough to confirm the boat is VAT paid. Not sure why you would want Part 1 - not that it is a bad thing, but expensive to have done from Italy, as Part 3 is equally acceptable. You have probably heard rumours about the Part 3 problems in Greece immediately after B day, but my understanding is that they have now been resolved. Worth checking with the Cruising Association as they were instrumental in sorting it out.