Bilge Keel Yachts Blue water passage abilities?

mikeheller

Visit site
Hello, I have little experience of bilge keelers but know all the 'horror stories'. Can anyone give me information on the blue water capabilities of bilge keelers, for example I know from experience that 'knock downs' in long keel cruisers are manageable, and they will 'roll' and right without any real doubts; but will a bilge keeler handle it? To be really specific, does anyone know from experience/reliable sources if a Macwester Wight MkII 32footer can be relied on to handle an Atlantic return passage? Sorry for the long winded question.

TigaWave

www.H4marine.com
Not that particular make or type, but I've met people who have happily taken Bilgers across W to E. Its also true that some fins have a poor record of coming up quickly, or staying upside down. Many of which have done atlantic circuits.

I think the roll situation being fairly extreme can break rigs in many boats but if its that rough most yachts including bilge keelers are more stable the right way up so eventually they will pop up again assuming not too much water gets in. You can always help the situation by having a half inflated or fully inflated tender attached very securely to the deck.

It's a case of treating the boat more carefully when the going gets rough, and also on a long passage like that, thinking about how and where you stow heavy items, like tinned food and water/fuel supplies.

Or how about secureing a hammer action lifejacket to the mast head? somewhat tongue in cheek..but then again why not?

Birdseye

Visit site
I dont know who has told you that knockdowns in long keel yachts are "manageable" but you can no more generalise about them than you can about bilge keelers or cats or fins.