Back to sailing issues – To A/F or not to A/F

G

The boat has been in the water for a year now, tucked nicely away up a river, so sat for at least 80% of the time in fresh water. I beached her on the last spring for a pressure wash, scrub and A/F, but was surprised to find only a few small barnacles and a very thin coating of ‘slime’.

So the question is - should I not bother with the backbreaking and expensive task of Anti-fouling, and instead, just dry her out two or three times a year for a pressure wash?

G

You don't say if it is a sailing boat or a motor boat (Higher speeds and harder antifouling) I'm no expert but think it depends on the strength and thickness of the antifouling. Is it one of the ablative types which is "self polishing' which has its lifespan shortened by scrubbing. If the pressure washing merely takes off a very thin top layer then yes do that, but watch out for significant removal of antifouling by the power washer.

I painted the antifouling on my boat in two coats with the first coat in red and the second in black. This way I can tell when the antifouling is getting thin and needs replacing.

G

More info

Its a sailing boat. Dont know what A/F was on, as it was on when I got it. I too alternate colours. This time I only put on one coat where I could get to (didnt do between the bilge plates, thought I would leave that as a 'test area' to check the theory).

G

Is it fair to assume...

..that the chemistry expires before the material does.